Skip to main content

EU Countries Demand Tougher Measures at Borders

EU countries borders

Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta and Slovakia have sent a letter to EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and EU Council President Charles Michel urging Brussels to strengthen the EU's borders and provide funding for the installation of border fences and concertina razor wire. Eight EU countries have urged Brussels to significantly tighten the bloc's borders, saying the time has come for a comprehensive approach to all the problems of illegal migration faced by EU countries.

The EU has now allocated six billion euros to protect its borders for the period 2021-2027, but calls from many countries for EU funding to build razor wire fences along the bloc's outer borders to reduce the flow of asylum seekers have gone unanswered. The European Commission has so far refrained, saying that building walls and installing razor wire is not the right solution. Whether this is really so - practice will show, and it has already confirmed the need to build fences with barbed wire in the EU countries bordering Russia and Belarus.